Voir la page en français

Prizes and notable researchers

Nobel Prize

Nobel Prizes

2007 Nobel Prize in Physics: Albert Fert

1991 Nobel Prize in Physics: Pierre-Gilles de Gennes


Fields Medal

Fields Medals

2010 Fields Medal: Ngô Bao Châu

2006 Fields Medal: Wendelin Werner

2002 Fields Medal: Laurent Lafforgue

1994 Fields Medal: Jean-Christophe Yoccoz


Notable researchers

These researchers have all won major prizes for their work at Paris-Sud University :

Ngô Bảo Châu, born in Hanoï on 28th June 1972, was the first Vietnamese mathematician (naturalised as a French citizen in early 20103) to receive the Clay Research Award, in 2004. He works on the Langlands programme. He received the Fields Medal in 2010.

Albert Fert (7th March 1938) is a French physicist who specialises in the physics of condensed matter. In 2013 he was an emeritus professor at Paris-Sud University and scientific director at the Joint CNRS/Thales Physics Institute (Unité mixte de physique CNRS/Thales). Together with Peter Grünberg, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2007 "for discovering giant magnoresistance" in 1988.

Wendelin Werner is a French mathematician who was born in Cologne, Germany on 23rd September 1968. He is Professor of Mathematics at ETH Zürich, the Zurich Federal Polytechnic School, and was awarded the Fields Medal in 2006. He has been a member of the French Academy of Sciences since December 2008.

Laurent Lafforgue is a French mathematician who was born in Antony (France) on 6th November 1966. In 2002, together with Vladimir Voevodsky, he received the Fields Medal at the 24th  International Congress of Mathematicians (in Peking, Chine). He made an exceptional contribution in the fields of number theory and algebraic geometry by demonstrating part of the Langlands conjectures.

Jean-Christophe Yoccoz, who was born in Paris on 29th May 1957, is a French mathematician and former student of the École normale supérieure. He is particularly well-known for his work on dynamic systems; he received the Fields Medal in 1994 at the International Congress of Mathematicians in Zurich.

Pierre-Gilles de Gennes,  a French physicist, was born in Paris on 24th October 1932 and died in Orsay on 18th May 2007. He received the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1991 for his work on liquid crystals and polymers. His contributions inspired and resulted in numerous studies in the fields of fundamental physics and physical chemistry as well as in applied sciences.

Patrick Couvreur, who was born on 18th January 1950, is a French pharmacist and a specialist in medical nanotechnologies. He is currently a Professor at Paris-Sud University. Patrick Couvreur is internationally recognised for his work in the field of drug vectorisation in cancer treatment.
He received the Innovation Medal awarded by CNRS4 on 20th June 2012, and the European Inventor Award in 2013.