Five researchers from Université Paris-Sud have been honoured by the Academy of Science

Five researchers from Université Paris-Sud are among the distinguished winners at the Academy of Science’s 2018 award ceremony held on 16 October 2018 at the Institut de France.

Each year at its formal awards ceremony, the Academy of Science honours researchers who through the uniqueness and quality of their careers have contributed to the advancement of knowledge and progress in scientific research. 31 Grand Prizes and 36 Thematic Prizes were awarded at the 2018 ceremony.

Here is a close look at the four Université Paris-Sud winners.

Alexei Chepelianskii, winner of the Grand Prix Jacques Herbrand (physics):

The Jacques Herbrand 2018 prize was awarded to Alexei Chepelianskii, a researcher at the Solid-State Physics Laboratory (LPS- UPSud/CNRS).

Alexei Chepelianskii is neither a theorist or a researcher, but both at the same time. He is interested in many areas of physics, which allows him to develop original, high-level, inventive and very productive scientific work, characterised by successfully moving between the innovative experiments that he designs and performs, and the theory that he is developing to interpret them.

He has already published many scientific papers on a wide variety of subjects ranging from the dynamics of computer networks to the spintronics of organic photoconductors and the out-of-equilibrium physics of correlated states of electrons on helium, demonstrating the abundance and quality of his scientific work.

Frédéric Pierre, winner of the Grand Prix Madame Victor Noury

Frédéric Pierre, a researcher at the Centre for Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (C2N – UPSud/CNRS), is a young condensed matter physicist who is a very inventive experimenter and whose scientific output is on the rise.

His work is characterised on the one hand by the design and manufacture of novel quantum electronic circuits to test the fundamentals of mesoscopic quantum transport, but also by the development of unprecedented instrumentation to measure their electrical and thermal transport properties at very low temperature.
Frédéric Pierre’s’ work has produced remarkable advances in the physics of electronic interactions in low-dimensional quantum systems by testing theoretical predictions that have never been verified experimentally before and by driving new developments in the field.

Colin Guillarmou, winner of the Prix Paul Doistau-Emile Blutet

The prize was award to Colin Guillarmou, a researcher at the Orsay Mathematics Laboratory (UPSud/CNRS), who has made major contributions in several areas of mathematical analysis and partial differential equations.

His most significant results include spectral theory, scattering theory, inverse problems, quantum chaos, hyperbolic dynamical systems, conformal geometry, hyperbolic geometry and Teichmuller theory.

In particular, he has demonstrated that for complex asymptomatic hyperbolic manifolds, the scattering data helps to reconstruct the manifold’s topology and metrics and for co-compact hyperbolic spaces, the Eisenstein series focuses on a measurement supported in the phase space by geodesic endpoints and on average over the Liouville measurement.

Julien Nicolas, winner of the Prix Novacap

The prize was awarded to Julien Nicolas, CNRS (National Centre for Scientific Research) Research Director at the Institut Galien Paris-Sud at Université Paris-Sud’s Faculty of Pharmacy.

Julien Nicolas is a polymer chemist recognised for his significant contributions to the design of new materials for biomedical applications.

These have resulted in the development of innovative biodegradable nanoparticle systems to target different diseases such as cancer or Alzheimer’s disease.
His results have led to many publications internationally and the development of seven patents with leading companies in the field of medicine.

In addition, François Michel, Emeritus Research Director at CNRS and a volunteer researcher at the Institute of Integrative Biology of the Cell (I2BC) (UPSud/CNRS) is the winner of the Prix Fondé par l’Etat which will be given to him at a second ceremony organised for 20 November 2018.