Ligue des universités de recherche européennes (LERU)

Logo de la LERU

La Ligue des universités de recherche européennes (LERU) fondée en 2002 regroupe actuellement 21 membres, dont l’Université Paris-Sud. Elle a pour mission de promouvoir le rôle des universités de recherche dans le développement d'un enseignement supérieur de qualité en contact avec les limites de la connaissance, et d'une recherche fondamentale intensive, ouverte sur les enjeux économiques et sociétaux.
L'objectif de la LERU est de défendre ces valeurs, en influençant la politique européenne, par des analyses et des propositions concrètes qui pourront être reprises par la Commission ou le Parlement européen. A travers la coopération et l'échange d'expérience entre les 21 universités membres, la LERU promeut également le développement de "bonnes pratiques".

Universités membres de la LERU :

La LERU en quelques chiffres

  • 550 000 étudiants dont 50 000 doctorants
  • 5 milliards d'euros attribués à la recherche par les universités membres
  • 230 Prix Nobel et Médailles Fields accordés à ses membres
  • 55 000 personnels académiques y travaillent

News - LERU : League of European Research Universities

LERU’s Interim Evaluation of Horizon 2020
Today the European Commission opens its online consultation on the Horizon 2020 interim evaluation. The ‘LERU’s Interim Evaluation of Horizon 2020’ paper that will be officially launched in Brussels tomorrow is LERU’s response to this consultation and makes recommendations to a wide range of aspects related to Horizon 2020.
Report on European Open Science Cloud now launched!
11 October saw the publication of the Commission’s High Level Expert Group on the European Science Cloud.
Citizen science at universities: Trends, guidelines and recommendations
Citizen science is experiencing an upsurge of interest. In a paper published today, LERU analyses trends in citizen science, formulates actionable guidelines for scientists and gives recommendations for universities, policymakers and funders.
LERU and Central-European universities team up for better research & education policies
The research-intensive universities that are members of LERU have been able to form a unique bond over the past fifteen years and have succeeded in successfully advocating the interests of research-intensive universities in Europe and beyond. They are also keenly aware that, regardless of their location and other differentiating factors, all research universities in Europe face similar challenges affecting all aspects of their intertwined activities - education, research and societal engagement. There are similar challenges for universities, not only within the Western and Southern European quadrants, where LERU universities are located, but also in Central and Eastern Europe, with challenges differing more in intensity and in degree of development, than in fundamental characteristics. That is why a group of seven respected Central-European universities and LERU are joining forces.
Cambridge alumni win 2016 Nobel Prize in Physics
Three alumni of the University of Cambridge (a LERU university) were awarded the 2016 Nobel Prize in Physics for their pioneering work in the field of condensed matter physics.
Jean-Pierre Sauvage, University of Strasbourg, Nobel laureate for chemistry
Jean-Pierre Sauvage, emeritus professor of the University of Strasbourg (a LERU university) and member of the Académie des Science has been awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry 2016.
Prof. Stephen Toope nominated as Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cambridge
On 26 September 2016, International law scholar and university leader Professor Stephen Toope was nominated as Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cambridge.
What kind of world is STM living in?
14 September saw the International Association of STM publishers  issue a response to the EC’s proposed Directive on Copyright in the Digital Single Market, which flies in the face of LERU’s views contained in its own Press Release.
EU copyright reform and TDM : potentially good for research but certainly not (yet) for innovation !
The European Commission has presented its legislative proposal to update the EU framework on copyright. LERU is very pleased to see that the EC has finally included the much needed mandatory exception for Text and Data Mining in the proposed Directive on copyright in the Digital Single Market.
Alain Beretz appointed as Director-General for Research and Innovation in France
Just a few months short of his scheduled end of term as President of the University of Strasbourg and Chairman of LERU, Prof. Alain Beretz has been appointed as the Director-General for Research and Innovation at the French Ministry for Higher Education and Research in Paris.
H2020 should focus on innovative collaborative discovery research not on technology readiness
To forge better links not only between university research laboratories but also with companies, there should be more room for bottom-up, collaborative research in the EU’s framework research programme – specifically in Horizon 2020’s pillars II and III.
New Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Education at Oxford University
Professor Sarah Whatmore FBA has been appointed Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education) at the University of Oxford.
Hester Bijl new Vice-Rector Magnificus of Leiden University
Mathematician Hester Bijl will be appointed Vice-Rector Magnificus and member of the Executive Board of Leiden University with effect from 1 November 2016. She succeeds Simone Buitendijk.
Academic co-operation with the UK remains essential for Europe
LERU, one of the strongest collaborations of leading research universities in the world, regrets the outcome of the recent UK referendum. With 21 members across 10 countries, LERU nonetheless respects the result as the democratic will of the British people.
LERU Doctoral Summer School on Data Stewardship
From 10 to 15 July 2016, Leiden University and Leiden University Medical Center will host the 7th LERU Doctoral Summer School, a yearly event for PhD students of LERU partners. The theme of the 2016 Summer School is ‘Data Stewardship for Scientific Discovery and Innovation’.
EuroScience Open Forum - Manchester 2016
Hosted in a different European city every two years, ESOF is a unique international and multidisciplinary event which presents and discusses the frontiers of scientific and technological research in Europe.
EOSC - European Open Science Cloud
On 20 June 2016 the EC's High Level Expert Group on the European Open Science Cloud, on which LERU was represented by Dr Paul Ayris (UCL) and Prof Barend Moons (Leiden University), published its draft Report. This is the product of months of deliberation and discussion amongst the Group's international membership.
Sylvie Retailleau elected new President of Paris-Sud University
On Monday 30 May 2016, Prof Sylvie Retailleau was elected as new President of Paris-Sud University. She succeeds Jacques Bittoun who has been President for the last 4 years.
“2,5 pages of nonsense” - The STM statement on the Open Science Council conclusions
On 28 May 2016, the International Association for Scientific, Technical and Medical Publishers (STM) issued a response to the EU Competitiveness Council’s Conclusions on Open Science. Although welcoming the move to Open Science, STM noted its concern at a number of Conclusions which the Council has reached.
Carel Stolker re-appointed as Rector Magnificus and President of Leiden University
LERU congratules prof. Carel Stolker with his re-appointment as Rector Magnificus and President of Leiden University.