A new President for Paris-Sud UniversitY

Sylvie Retailleau, Université Paris-Sud President. © F. Beloncle pour UPSud

The new Administrative council of Paris-Sud University elected Sylvie Retailleau as President on May 30th 2016.

She succeeds Jacques Bittoun who had been Université Paris-Sud President since May 29th 2012.

She obtained 26 votes out of the 34 eligible voters present during the first Administrative council meeting. The electing board is composed of the new representatives of Paris-Sud University personnel and users as well as external members. Sylvie Retailleau was the only candidate for the Presidency.
Sylvie Retailleau is a Professor in Physics at Paris-Sud University and was up to now the Dean of the Faculty of Sciences, a position to which she was elected in September 2011.

She is a graduate of the ENS Cachan, and passed the Agrégation in Applied Physics in 1988. She obtained a PhD in Sciences form Paris-Sud University in 1992. Her research at IEF (the Institute of Fundamental Electronics, co-supervised by Paris-Sud University and the CNRS) focuses on the theoretical study of physics and semiconductor components in advanced electronics.

Since 2001, she has held the position of Professor at Paris-Sud University. Until 2008, she was in charge of the IST (Information, Systems, Technology) Master’s degree, as well as the head of research on “Quantum Integrated Components for NanoElectronics” at IEF from its creation in January 2002 to 2011. She was also the Vice-President of the Physics department of the Faculty of Sciences of Orsay from 2007 to 2008, then Associate Dean for Academic Education Programs and Training from 2008 to 2011. She served as the Dean of the Faculty of Sciences from September 2011 to May 2016.